Call Us:

Vaastu Purusha Mandala


Vastupadavinysa is a square yantra (Grid) which represents the ritual form of vastupurusha

There are 32 types of Vaastu Purusha Mandala ranging from 1 x 1, 2 x 2, 3 x 3 32 x 32. They are classified under 2 categories, one of even numbers (yugma) and one of odd numbers (ayugma).

The normal position of the Vastu Purusha (head in the northeast, legs in the southwest) but in the Manduka Mandala (8x8) the Vastu Purusha ( head facing east and the feet facing west).  

An important aspect of the mandala is that when divided into even number of squares, its center is constituted by a point formed by the intersection of the two perpendicular central lines and are is used for the design of temples whereas when its divided into odd number of squares, its center is constituted by one module or pada and are used for all other structures.

Mandala in siting

The mandala is used to plan architecture through a process called the Pada this method the site is dived grids/modules or pada. Depending upon the gods occupying the padas, zonal functions of the building is decided. Mandala have certain points known as marma which are vital energy spots on which nothing should be built. They are determined by certain proportional relationships of the squares and the diagonals.


A site of any shape can be divided using the Vastu Purusha Mandalas. Manasara talks about 32 types of Pada Vinyasa, depending upon their applications such as residential buildings, palaces, auditoriums, temples etc.

These various types of 32 mandalas with the corresponding names of sites is given below:


1.        Sakala Mandala-       Eka pada   (1 square)

2.        Pechaka Mandala -    Dwi pada   (2x2=4 squares) 

3.        Pitha  Mandala -       Tri pada   (3x3=9 squares)

4.        Mahaapitha Mandala - Chatush pada   (4x4=16 squares) 

5.        Upapitha Mandala -   Pancha pada   (5x5=25 squares)

6.        Ugrapitha Mandala -  Shashtha pada   (6x6=36 squares)

7.        Sthandila Mandala -  Sapta pada   (7x7=49 squares)

8.        Manduka/ Chandita Mandala - Ashta pada   (8x8=64 square) and is said to be "Sukshma" (subtle)

9.        Paramasaayika Mandala - Nava pada   (9x9=81 squares) and is said to be "Sthula" (gross).

10.     Aasana Mandala -     Dasa pada   (10x10=100 squares)

11.  Sthaniya Mandala

12.  DeSya Mandala

13.  Ubhaya-chandita Mandala

14.  Bhadra Mandala

15.  MahAsana Mandala

16.  Padma-Garbha Mandala

17.  Tri-yuta Mandala

18.  KarnAshtaka Mandala

19.  Ganita Mandala

20.  Surya-visAlaka Mandala

21.  Susamhita Mandala

22.  SupratikAnta Mandala

23.  VisAlaka Mandala

24.  Vipra-garbha Mandala

25.  ViveSa Mandala

26.  Vipulya-bhoga Mandala

27.  Vipra-Kunta Mandala

28.  VisalAksha Mandala

29.  Vipra-bhakti Mandala

30.  VisveSvara Mandala

31.  Isvara-kAnta Mandala

32.  ChanrakAnta Mandala

Click here to contact now